Fred Brooks biography

 Fred Brooks, in full Frederick Phillips Brooks, Jr., (born April 19, 1931, Durham, North Carolina, U.S.), American laptop scientist and winner of the 1999 A.M. Turing Award, the best honour in laptop science, for his “landmark contributions to computer architecture, operating systems, and software engineering.”

Brooks obtained a bachelor’s diploma (1953) in physics from Duke University and a doctorate (1956) in utilized arithmetic from Harvard University, the place he studied beneath the pc pioneer Howard Aiken. After ending his doctorate, Brooks joined IBM, the place he labored on the IBM 7030 (often known as Stretch), a supercomputer ordered by the U.S. National Security Agency for the Los Alamos National Laboratory. Together with Dura Sweeney, Brooks invented the pc’s interrupt system, which is used to acknowledge completely different computing “events” that require quick consideration and to synchronize the actions of a number of applications or enter/output units. Brooks additionally managed the event of the IBM OS/360 working system and its related household of computer systems. In this capability Brooks was liable for choosing the 8-bit byte as the essential addressable unit and the inclusion of an entire set of alphanumeric characters, options that have been adopted in practically all subsequent computer systems.

Brooks left IBM in 1965, having based the pc science division on the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, the earlier yr; he served as chair till 1984 and was Kenan Professor of Computer Science. His analysis pursuits have included human-computer interplay, three-dimensional laptop graphics, and particularly digital actuality, the place he has led within the creation of scientific visualization instruments. For instance, Brooks constructed the primary molecular graphics system to unravel the bodily construction of a brand new protein.

Brooks was the creator, with Kenneth E. Iverson, of Automatic Data Processing (1963), The Mythical Man-Month: Essays on Software Engineering (1975), and, with Gerrit A. Blaauw, Computer Architecture: Concepts and Evolution (1997) and Computer Architecture: A Computer Zoo (1997).

Brooks was elected to the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE; 1968), the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (1976), the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1976), the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (1991), the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM; 1994), the British Computer Society (1994), the U.Okay. Royal Academy of Engineering (1994), and the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (2001). He additionally served on numerous civilian our bodies that suggested the U.S. army, together with the Defense Science Board (1983–86), the Artificial Intelligence Task Force (1983–84), the Computers in Simulation and Training Task Force (1986–87), and the National Science Board (1987–92). He was chairman of the Military Software Task Force (1985–87).

In addition to the Turing Award, Brooks obtained the IEEE McDowell Award (1970), the IEEE Computer Pioneer Award (1982), the U.S. National Medal of Technology (1985), the IEEE Harry Goode Memorial Award (1989), the IEEE John von Neumann Medal (1993), the ACM Allen Newell Award (1994), the Franklin Institute Bower Award and Prize in Science (1995), and the ACM/IEEE Eckert-Mauchly Award (2004).


Post a Comment